I’ve made enough fun of Nithyananda, but now I feel sorry for the man (which by the way, he claims he isn’t). It is partly because I’ve run out of jokes, but it still says a lot about how empathetic I am.

After being granted bail, Nithyananda began his penance, presumably as penalty for penal misconducts. While meditating, he sat and prayed surrounded by fire — lit using blue kerosene meant for Below Poverty Line ration card holders. Therefore, cops have registered a case and he could be convicted for seven-years, this article claims.

So long, my friend.

And I’m not referring to what you think I am.

****

Speaking of people whom their respective gods haven’t protected, read this story of an American caught on the Af-Pak border who was on a mission to kill Osama Bin Laden. He was armed with 40-inch sword, a pistol, night vision goggles and a copy of the Bible. When asked why he thought he had a chance of tracing Bin Laden, he replied, “God is with me, and I am confident I will be successful in killing him”.

This will go down as a negative point in Jesus’ performance review.

