Remember the 80-foot fall of Abhishek Bachchan in Raavan? Not the metaphorical one of his acting, the very real one prominent in the trailer.

This is Abhishek on the scene:

When asked about his scene, Bachchan admitted that Ratnam was dead against him doing the stunt himself because the current was too strong and a 90-foot dive was too risky for an actor. “But there were four-five local boys around who would jump off the cliff for money. I pointed out to Mani that if they could do it, so could I, given that there was a professional diver to train me,” explains Bachchan.

He finally had his way and admits that when he was airborne, the only thought on his mind was, “Oh my God, I’m going to die!” He adds that Ratnam was furious after the shot and told him to leave such dangerous stunts to trained professionals.

Impressive, eh? Before you say R.E.S.P.E.C.T., M.S. Balram, a diving champion from Bangalore :

“I don’t want any publicity, nor do I want to create any controversy since I am a great fan of the Bachchans. Moreover, it is Mani Ratnam sir’s movie. I only want the movie to do well. But it is true that I performed this thrilling stunt for Abhishek and was paid for it. I feel proud to have done this stunt.”

More than one senior members of Mani Ratnam’s unit were also categorical that it was a body double and not Abhishek who performed the stunt.

Abhishek is bad at making stuff up — not bad as his acting though. I sympathized with Balram and was on his side, until:

I did several dry runs before it was actually shot on the morning of December 19, 2008. I am happy to have done the risky stunt for the great Abhishek Bachchan.

Yeah okay, he’s on his own.

