It’s been a while since I did a music post. Here it goes:

My friend, who is absolutely brilliant at finding similarities in music pieces spotted this one (I can’t jump to the precise time in embedded videos. Hence, linking.)

1. Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan singing Sochta Hoon Woh Kitne Masoon The: Hear the bit from 3:30 to 3:52.

2. Background music of Roja by A.R. Rahman: Hear from 4:22.

I don’t think it’s a rip-off. In fact, I think I hear Nusrat saab’s voice in the Roja score.

*****

I came across this video of Nusrat saab singing a qawwali. Watch the sargam bit beginning at 2:15. He ends the sargam on a Ga, but sings a Re. It’s a classic race between his thinking and singing.

*****

Rahat Fateh Ali Khan sings one of my favourite qawwalis Na To Caravan Ki Talash Hai on some television show:

He sings a Pakistani variation Na To Butkade Ki Talab. I also found a version of the same by Nusrat saab.

The first few notes show Rahat Fateh Ali Khan’s calibre. I’m saddened by some of his recent Bollywood songs. All sound similar to his first couple of hits. I hope he stops singing for Vishal-Shekhar and Pritam and is as selective as Shaqfat Amanat Ali Khan in the future.

Link via PigeonLadyX.

*****

Raghu Dixit’s first album had a fresh sound and arrangements. He is back with a Kannada movie album Just Math Mathalli. I quite liked the album.

I’m told Sonu Nigam sings a fair bit in Sandalwood (Yes, that is what the Kannada film industry is called. Really.) I might have to start following Kannada music seriously. The sound is modern, but the focus on melody is unmistakable. Plus Kannada sounds really nice and easy on the ears.

