Continuing the music theme, I realized today that I haven’t disliked any version of Vande Mataram I have heard till date. It could be just confirmation bias (i.e. I only hold on to the versions I like). I tried hard to recollect a version that I discarded, with no luck. Perhaps you can tell me if you know of a version not in this list (I mean, somewhere there ought to be a version composed by Lakshmikant-Pyarelal, Anu Malik or Nadeem-Shravan, which also makes me shudder.)

The reason why I liked most versions was, I thought, probably Des raga (which the original Vande Mataram was written in and a raga I especially like). However, most of these versions are nowhere near Des raga.

Is it that composers are inspired when they need to write music for Vande Mataram? We’ll never know, but enjoy these before Himesh Reshammiya writes a version.

1. Vande Mataram (Revival) from A.R. Rahman’s album Vande Mataram. This is my favourite rendition, and the only faithful adaptation of the original song in this list.

A full version of the song is here.

2. From Anand Math. This was when Lata Mangeshkar began peaking. The late 50s were her peak; debate welcome offline.

3. Maa Tujhe Salaam from the same album Vande Mataram. This one’s technically not a version of Bankim Chandra Chaterjee’s Vande Mataram, but I’m including it for completeness.

4. Bande Mein Tha Dum from Lage Raho Munnabhai. Again, technically not Bankimda’s version.

5. Vande Mataram from Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gham.

6. The latest I heard, Vande Mataram Revised from Khelein Hum Jee Jaan Sey. This one is fast climbing my favourites chart.

