Manmohan Singh on the allegedly illegal phone tapping of Niira Radia:

I am aware of the nervousness in some sections of the corporate sector arising out of the powers conferred upon the Governmental authorities to tap telephones for protecting national security and preventing tax evasion and money laundering.

Seriously, who conferred this power upon the government? And why?

*****

There are those who argue that the tapping brought into light much of the 2G scam starring A.Raja. I agree with them. Also, just to make sure these arguers don’t commit any crimes, even involuntarily, I’ll be making surprise visits into their homes and bedrooms and watching their chats and e-mails anytime I want.

Just for security.

It’ll help and I’ll stop them before they commit any crime. Trust me.

