Previous part here.

I reached the airport well before my flight. I finally had time to reflect on the entire trip. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience when I left my apartment. I didn’t even know what would constitute a better experience. I saw few places, met a few people and had some wonderful moments that I would have otherwise never had — just like any other trip in the past, just like any other trip in the future is going to be. Experiences are, I believe, the universe reacting to how one projects oneself. The experiences I call wonderful are perhaps the ones I sought and grabbed. (In the free will vs. destiny debate, I believe in free will upto the extent where I have an influence; destiny doesn’t exist anyway.)

I checked my email at the airport. The only new messages were from Marco, Guiseppe, an acquaintance I met in Peru and a missed call from Mario. It was amusing.

A few minutes before boarding, I returned all the pesos I had in exchange for far fewer US dollars. It seemed like a symbolic gesture that I was returning back to routine, but that wasn’t true. I try to never return ‘back to normal routine’ as that would demean all the moments and people I came across. There are changes, sometimes only minor, after every travel. All that matters to me is that something is changing. And change is usually progress.

When I boarded my flight, the only event taking place was me moving to just another location figuring out the continuous process called life. When I connect the dots looking back, months or years from now, this trip will be one of the dots.

******

Even before I reached my apartment, I came to know that a certain A had fought with a certain B, a certain C had stopped talking with a certain D and a certain E was still complaining about the same things as when I left. I am not surrounded by dysfunctional relationships. Hardly, in fact — but the contrast between where I am and the trivialities of everyday relationships is highest when I return after traveling.

Welcome back, society said.

****

So that was Mexico, and that was 2010. Skiing and a visit to India still remain in 2010, but I have hung up my boots for 2010 as far as adventure is concerned. It turned out to be a pretty good year: a few 14ers summited, two trips to Colorado, plenty of hiking and skiing, Peru, Mexico, India. Looking back, I feel exhausted and yet, this was the bare minimum I had to do to not feel I was leading a boring life. Everyone rolls differently, and that’s how I roll.

I don’t know if it’s because of these travelogues or if it’s because of the stories I bring from far away lands, but friends often ask me to inform them when I plan to travel next so they can try to join me. I say ‘Sure!’ but I know none of my special memories would’ve even occurred had someone else been with me. Once again, I suggest traveling alone if it’s possible: Besides discovering new things, you will discover facets about yourself that you had no idea about. Trust me on this one.

Through all these travelogues, my only intended takeaway is that anyone reading this should want to travel or undertake something adventurous. These travelogues are about me but they are not intended to be about me. I just hope to have romanticized traveling enough for *you* to pack your bags and leave for somewhere .. and soon.

Bon voyage.

