Meanwhile:

The government today said telecom operators will have to stop any such services that can not be monitored as per the satisfaction of law enforcement agencies. BlackBerry-maker Research in Motion (RIM) has been saying that it cannot provide access to the popular BlackBerry Enterprise Service (BES) as it does not possess any key and the security architecture is the same around the world.

“It is between the licencee (operators) to tell RIM that look if you can’t do this, you can’t use my network. It is as simple as that. I have only to deal with the licencee. I do not deal with RIM matters. I do not have any agreement with Blackberry,” Union Home Secretary G K Pillai said.

Either I missed the outrage or no one cares as much about this issue. And to those who argue this is a necessary security measure, I ask them to keep the doors of their houses open because, you know, most terrorist attacks are planned in closed structures.

Ah, well. I doubt rhetoric would work on them.

*****

There is often something funny about citizens defending their governments, no?

