A wonderful Spanish song based around the 2004 Madrid train bombing.

 

The translation is not perfect but good enough to read along:

Si fuera más guapa y un poco más lista
If I were prettier and smarter
Si fuera especial, si fuera de revista
If I were special; if I looked like a model
Tendría el valor de cruzar el vagón
I might have the courage to cross the carriage
Y preguntarte quién eres
And ask you who you are.

Te sientas enfrente y ni te imaginas
You sit in front and do not even notice
Que llevo por ti mi falda más bonita
That I am wearing my special skirt for you
Y al verte lanzar un bostezo al cristal
And on seeing me you heave a yawn at the window pane.
Se inundan mis pupilas
My eyes well up.

De pronto me miras, te miro y suspiras.
Suddenly you look at me, I look at you and you sigh.
Yo cierro los ojos, tú apartas la vista
I close my eyes, you look away.
Apenas respiro me hago pequeñita
I hardly breathe; I feel small
Y me pongo a temblar
And I begin to tremble.

Y así pasan los días de lunes a viernes.
And thus pass the days from Monday to Friday
Como las golondrinas del poema de Bécquer
Like the swallows from the poem by Bécquer.
De estación a estación en frente tú y yo
From station to station, in front of you and me
Va y viene el silencio
The silence comes and goes.

De pronto me miras, te miro y suspiras.
Suddenly you look at me, I look at you and you sigh.
Yo cierro los ojos, tú apartas la vista
I close my eyes, you look away.
Apenas respiro me hago pequeñita
I hardly breathe; I feel small
Y me pongo a temblar
And I begin to tremble.

Y entonces ocurre, despiertan mis labios
And then it happens, my lips wake up
Pronuncian tu nombre tartamudeando.
Stuttering your name.
Supongo que piensas «Qué chica más tonta»
I assume that you are thinking “What a silly girl!”
Y me quiero morir
And I want to die

Pero el tiempo se para y te acercas diciendo
But then time stops and you move closer saying
«Yo aún no te conozco y ya te echaba de menos.
“I do not even know you and I already miss you.
Cada mañana rechazo el directo
Every morning I skip the non-stop one
Y elijo este tren»
And take this train”

Y ya estamos llegando, mi vida ha cambiado.
As we are about to arrive, my life has changed.
Un día especial este once de marzo.
A special day, this eleventh of March
Me tomas la mano, llegamos a un túnel
You take my hand, we arrive at a tunnel
Que apaga la luz
And it goes dark.

Te encuentro la cara gracias a mis manos.
I find your face with my hands.
Me vuelvo valiente y te beso en los labios.
I gather courage and kiss you on the lips.
Dices que me quieres y yo te regalo
You say that you love me and I give you
El último soplo de mi corazón
The last faint beat of my heart.

