[Source]

The Supreme Court on Tuesday held that inter-caste marriages are in “national interest” as a unifying factor in a nation where caste system is a “curse”. “The caste system is a curse on the nation and the sooner it is destroyed the better. In fact, it is dividing the nation at a time when we have to be united to face the challenges before the nation. Inter-caste marriages are, in fact, in national interest as they will result in destroying the caste system,” a Bench of Justices Markandeya Katju and Gyan Sudha Misra held in a judgment.

The idea might sound silly but I see their point. We need to get out of a caste mentality and youngsters, through marriage, can greatly help the cause. Also helping the cause: The most prejudiced folks of our society (read grandmothers and grandfathers) are mostly dead.

In the same judgement, they also declared khap panchayats illegal. That’s some work for a day. I’ll admit it: I love to read judgements of the Supreme Court of India. I would even consider buying a t-shirt that says ‘I ♥ SC’.

Link via Salil B.

***

If someone says that he/she is a liberal and has no prejudice against any caste or religion but wouldn’t even consider marrying out of his/her caste, is that person bigoted?

The exact reason for doing so might appear important but we are masters at rationalizing irrational decisions. If I do not want a Dalit to enter my house, I could argue from a hygiene perspective: Dalits are statistically poorer and hence, are less clean. I’d rather not have them spread diseases in my home.

A friend, having similar education as I, once said he wouldn’t consider marrying a Maharashtrian girl who wasn’t a brahmin. His reason, and I swear on your sexual drive this is true, was that brahmins are genetically more intelligent. Marrying one would lead to a blissful life and smarter children.

He however does not deny not being bigoted.

