Prashant Bhushan, one of the lawyers leading the anti-corruption crusade ..

.. led the charge attacking the government’s economic policies since 1991, describing them as “precisely the reason” why corruption had become so pervasive in the country.

Deviating from the anti-politician and ostensibly moral discourse that the Anna Hazare-led campaign has so far maintained, Bhushan, a prominent figure of that campaign, claimed that the process of privatisation had created a “corporate mafia” in the country. He drew a parallel with the situation prevailing in Russia which, he said, had been described by a Russian journalist as a “mafia state.”

I’m glad he is busy policing the government and not the private sector. (Needless to add, what he calls a cause is really a symptom.)

***

One can connect each moment of each of our lives today to post-1991 liberalization. And if you are a bad columnist, you already know what I’m talking about. For instance:

I am writing this post on a laptop sitting in the United States. That’s because the company I work with gave me this machine. Because I studied here and applied for jobs here. Because I came here to study. Because I thought getting a masters would let me enjoy what I want to learn. Because my field is computer science. Because I was addicted to computers since 2000. Because personal computers became commonplace around that time. Because of the 1991 liberalization (proof).

And that’s how it’s done.

