Switching gears to music, I came across a few Pakistani artists recently.

1. First up, a Pakistani band Laal. Here’s their single Umeed-e-Sahar based on a satirical poem by Faiz Ahmed Faiz:

I liked their album Umeed-e-Sahar. Reliable sources inform me that their lead singer is now in the U.S. pursuing a Ph.D. and the replacement (his wife too, if it interests you) is not a very good singer. Reliable sources also informed me that said sources were the good lead singer’s TA.

In summary, you can unfollow Laal after that one album.

2. The prodigy Usman Riaz, who blends strange styles of guitar playing with Hindustani classical:

His first album has three tracks and is worth owning.

3. Not the discovery of an artist, but I heard Shafqat Amanat Ali’s album from 2008, Tabeer. Here is Karthik Srinivasan’s short review.

