Life has been wonderful but I’m still struggling to find any motivation whatsoever to write.

In the meanwhile, life has been good and I’ve been happy. I hope you’ve been too. I’ve continued flying and I was very recently introduced to cross-country skiing. Cross-country skiing is much more challenging than downhill skiing (which is what I’ve been doing all these years). I’m looking forward to pursuing it further. Insha’Allah.

***

Earlier this week, I returned from a backpacking trip to Turkey. It was unlike all other travels (for many, many reasons that I might not be able to elaborate). And I’m sorry that the trip will not result in a travelogue. The more I travel the more it becomes, if I may use the word, spiritual–and the less I feel the need to share. That said, I’ll be happy to share stories over a meal or drink if you meet me in person.

In a nutshell: I loved the place and the people. The folks there are way more friendly than I could have ever imagined. (They are how friendly we Indians tend to think we are?)

It was common to receive gifts from shop-owners. And I wasn’t even buying any stuff from them, just striking up a conversation. Raj Kapoor is weirdly famous among the older folk, even in tiny towns. They know his movies well and are delighted to hear his movie songs. One shop-owner was curious if he resembled ‘Raj Kapoor’s brother’. He had been told so by another travelling Indian long ago. Imagine his happiness when I pulled up a photograph of Shammi Kapoor and showed him the similarity!

I visited the ruins of Cappadocia, relaxed on the Mediterranean beaches of Fethiye and Oludeniz, swam in the waters of Kabak, hiked down into what I consider one of the most spectacular locations on earth, Butterfly Valley, climbed up a remote but wonderful waterfall, tried in vain to enjoy the historic city of Istanbul, met tons of fellow travellers and in general had the time of my life.

It’s back to the grind now.

***

If you are seeking information or have any questions about Turkey, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

